German company agrees to pay $2.1 million to settle violations of Iranian sanctions

Apparent violations of the Iranian transactions and sanctions regulations

Apparent violations of the Iranian transactions and sanctions regulations

The U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today announced that a company headquartered in Germany has agreed to pay approximately $2.1 million to settle its potential civil liability for apparent violations of the Iranian transactions and sanctions regulations.

According to today’s OFAC release [PDF 209 KB], during a period of over four years, the German company—a provider of enterprise application software, cloud-based services, and associated maintenance and support—exported software and related services from the United States to companies in third countries with knowledge or reason to know the software or services were intended specifically for Iran.

The company also sold cloud-based software subscription services accessed remotely through the company’s cloud businesses in the United States to customers that made the services available to their employees in Iran. The total value of the transactions constituting the apparent violations was approximately $3.7 million.

OFAC determined that the apparent violations were non-egregious and voluntarily self-disclosed.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.