ITAR country list amended to include Russia; denial for exports of defense articles and defense services

ITAR country list amended to include Russia

The U.S. State Department today released for publication in the Federal Register a final rule amending the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) to include Russia in the list of countries for which the United States will deny licenses and other approvals for exports and/or imports of defense articles and defense services.

1000

Related content

According to the final rule [PDF 217 KB] (as published in the Federal Register on March 18, 2021), the Secretary of State on March 1, 2021, determined that the government of Russia used chemical weapons in violation of international law or lethal chemical weapons against its own citizens. In response, the State Department is amending the ITAR to include Russia in the list of countries subject to a policy of denial for exports of defense articles and defense services.

An exception is being made to allow for case-by-case review of exports to Russia:

  • That support government space cooperation
  • That are in support of commercial space launches (valid for six months from the date of the Secretary of State’s determination)

Further, the State Department is amending ITAR to allow exporters to use certain exemptions for exports to Russia when in furtherance of government space cooperation.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal