U.S. executive order on supply chains

U.S. executive order on supply chains

President Biden signed an executive order concerning the creation of resilient and secure supply chains for critical and essential goods.

1000

Related content

Read the executive order (February 24, 2021)

As explained in a White House release, the executive order launches a comprehensive review of U.S. supply chains and directs federal departments and agencies to identify ways to secure U.S. supply chains against a broad range of risks and vulnerabilities. 

  • The order directs an immediate 100-day review by federal agencies to address vulnerabilities in the supply chains of four key products:
    • Active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs)
    • Critical minerals
    • Semiconductors and advanced packaging
    • Large capacity batters (such as those used in electric vehicles)
  • The order calls for a more in-depth one-year review of a broader set of U.S. supply chains focused on:
    • Six key sectors: (1) defense industrial; (2) public health and biological preparedness; (3) information and communications technology; (4) energy sector; (5) transportation; and (6) supply chains for agricultural commodities and food production
    • A set of risks for agencies to consider in their assessment of supply chain vulnerabilities
    • Recommendations on actions to improve resiliency
    • A sustained commitment to supply chain resiliency
    • Consultation with external stakeholders


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal