U.S. exception to periodic revisions, Section 301 investigation of large civil aircraft dispute

U.S. exception to periodic revisions

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today released for publication in the Federal Register a notice concerning the Section 301 investigation involving the enforcement of U.S. rights in the World Trade Organization (WTO) dispute involving large civil aircraft subsidies provided by current or former European Union (EU) Member States.

1000

Today’s USTR release [PDF 230 KB] (as published in the Federal Register on February 12, 2021) announces that the USTR together with the affected U.S. industry agreed that it is unnecessary to revise the action in the Section 301 investigation. The USTR will continue to consider the action taken in the investigation.

This exception to periodic revisions is applicable as of February 8, 2021.

Background

The World Trade Organization in October 2019 authorized the United States to impose additional duties on approximately $7.5 billion on EU products as a result of the large civil aircraft dispute.

The USTR in late December 2020 announced the most recent adjustments to tariffs imposed on certain products imported from the EU pursuant to the large civil aircraft dispute. The most recent revision to the list of goods subject to additional duties was effective on January 12, 2021. Read TradeNewsFlash


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

© 2022 KPMG LLP, a Delaware limited liability partnership and a member firm of the KPMG global organization of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a private English company limited by guarantee. All rights reserved.


For more detail about the structure of the KPMG global organization please visit https://home.kpmg/governance.

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal