U.S. procedures, relief relating to steel articles imported from Brazil (Section 232 action)

Steel articles imported from Brazil, Section 232 action

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Commerce Department today released for publication in the Federal Register a temporary rule establishing procedures relating to grants of relief from the quantitative limitation applicable to certain steel articles imported from Brazil for parties with preexisting contracts that meet certain specified criteria as part of the action under Section 232 of the Trade Expansion Act of 1962.

1000

Read the temporary final rule [PDF 270 KB]

Summary

President Trump on August 28, 2020, issued Proclamation 10064, Adjusting Imports of Steel Into the United States, which lowered one of the Section 232 quantitative limitations applicable to Brazil for the remainder of 2020 and added a new basis for relief from those lowered quantitative limitations.

Today’s temporary final rule directs the Commerce Secretary to grant relief from the modified quantitative limitations in a limited aggregate amount under specific circumstances related to the fulfillment of existing contracts.

The temporary final rule is effective as of the date of publication in the Federal Register (scheduled for October 13, 2020) through December 31, 2020.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

© 2022 KPMG LLP, a Delaware limited liability partnership and a member firm of the KPMG global organization of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a private English company limited by guarantee. All rights reserved.


For more detail about the structure of the KPMG global organization please visit https://home.kpmg/governance.

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal