EU: Updated “blacklist” of non-cooperative jurisdictions

EU: Updated blacklist of non-cooperative jurisdictions

The European Union on 6 October 2020 adopted a revised list of non-cooperative jurisdictions (the “blacklist”) that added two jurisdictions and removed two jurisdictions.


The jurisdictions added to the blacklist are Anguilla and Barbados, while the Cayman Islands and Oman were removed from the list. Therefore, the current EU blacklist is composed of 12 jurisdictions: American Samoa, Anguilla, Barbados, Fiji, Guam, Palau, Panama, Samoa, Seychelles, Trinidad and Tobago, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Vanuatu.

Mongolia and Bosnia and Herzegovina were removed from the "grey list" of non-cooperative jurisdictions, which now contains 10 jurisdictions.

Effects of EU blacklist of “tax haven” jurisdictions

The EU blacklist has implications for jurisdictions including sanctions. First, the EU list is linked to EU funding; funds from certain programs cannot be channeled through entities in listed countries.

Second, there is a direct link to the EU list with regard to EU transparency requirements for intermediaries (for instance, a tax scheme routed through an EU listed country will be automatically reportable to tax authorities).  Further, EU Member States have agreed on sanctions to apply at the national level against the listed jurisdictions. These include measures such as increased monitoring and audits, withholding taxes, special documentation requirements and anti-abuse provisions.

Read an October 2020 report prepared by KPMG’s EU Tax Centre

© 2022 KPMG LLP, a Delaware limited liability partnership and a member firm of the KPMG global organization of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a private English company limited by guarantee. All rights reserved.

For more detail about the structure of the KPMG global organization please visit

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us