close
Share with your friends

U.S. product exclusions regarding imports from China

U.S. product exclusions regarding imports from China

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today released for publication in the Federal Register three notices concerning actions under the Section 301 investigation of China’s acts, policies, and practices related to technology transfer, intellectual property, and innovation.

1000

Related content

The United States imposed additional customs duties on imported products from China. However, exclusions from imposition of the additional customs duties were allowed for certain products, as requested by U.S. entities.

  • The first notice [PDF 257 KB] announces the USTR’s decision to consider a possible extension of particular exclusions from the additional duties imposed on goods imported from China with an annual trade value of approximately $300 billion that are scheduled to expire on September 1, 2020. Comments on the possible extension of particular exclusions are due August 20, 2020.
  • The second notice [PDF 311 KB] announces the USTR’s determination to extend certain exclusions granted under the $200 billion action through December 31, 2020.
  • The third notice [PDF 250 KB] announces the USTR’s determination to grant certain exclusion requests under the $300 billion action and to make certain amendments to previously announced exclusions.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal