close
Share with your friends

U.S. rule, foreign-produced items destined for entities list

U.S. rule, foreign-produced items destined for entities

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) of the U.S. Commerce Department today released for publication in the Federal Register an interim final rule along with a request for comments concerning amendments to the “general prohibition three” (that is, the foreign-produced direct product rule).

1000

Related content

The interim final rule imposes a new control over certain foreign-produced items that are destined to a designated entity on the entity list. Comments concerning implications of this rule are requested and are due on or before July 14, 2020.

Read the BIS interim final rule [PDF 472 KB]

All U.S. origin items are subject to control under the Export Administration Regulations (EAR). In addition, foreign-produced items are subject to the EAR:

  • If they contain a certain percentage of controlled U.S.-origin content
  • If the foreign-produced item is subject to the foreign-produced direct product rule

The interim final rule applies to foreign-produced items based on the following two criteria: (1) the reason for control or classification of the U.S. “technology” or “software”; and (2) when there is knowledge that the foreign-produced item is destined to a designated entity listed on the entity list.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal