close
Share with your friends

USTR requests, Chinese product exclusions under “Section 301” actions

Chinese product exclusions under “Section 301” actions

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today released for publication in the Federal Register two “requests for comments” with regard to the “Section 301” investigation of China’s acts, policies, and practices related to technology transfer, intellectual property, and innovation.

1000

Related content

  • The USTR in July 2018 imposed additional customs duties on goods imported from China with an annual trade value of approximately $34 billion (read TaxNewsFlash). The USTR is considering a possible extension for up to 12 months of particular exclusions granted in July 2019 that are set to expire on July 9, 2020. Read the request for comments [PDF 1.8 MB]

  • The USTR in August 2018 imposed additional customs duties on goods imported from China with an annual trade value of approximately $16 billion (read TaxNewsFlash). The USTR is considering a possible extension for up to 12 months of particular exclusions granted in July 2019 that are set to expire on July 31, 2020. Read the request for comments [PDF 1.6 MB]

Comments are being accepted from May 1, 2020, through June 1, 2020.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Principal
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal