close
Share with your friends

USTR online portal, exclusion requests from additional customs duties on imports from China

USTR online portal, exclusion requests

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today released for publication in the Federal Register a notice announcing that on October 31, 2019, the USTR will open an electronic portal for U.S. stakeholders to submit requests for exclusion from the additional customs duties to be imposed on particular products classified within a tariff subheading subject to additional customs duties on imports from China under the “Section 301 action.”

1000

Related content

In August 2019, a notice from the USTR announced additional customs duties under the Section 301 investigation of imports from China. In that notice, the USTR stated that it would establish a process for U.S. stakeholders to use in requesting an exclusion from the additional customs duties. Read TradeNewsFlash

Today’s USTR notice [PDF 565 KB] announces that the USTR will open an electronic portal for submission of exclusion requests on October 31, 2019 for products covered by Annex A of the August 2019 action, and sets out the specific procedures for submitting requests.

The USTR notice provides that responses to individual exclusion requests are due 14 days after USTR posts the request on the online portal. Any replies to responses to an exclusion request are due the later of seven days after the close of the 14-day response period, or seven days after the posting of a response.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal