close
Share with your friends

U.S. determination of bifacial solar panels exclusion, investigation of solar panels

U.S. determination of bifacial solar panels exclusion

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today released for publication in the Federal Register a notice concerning withdrawal of an exclusion of bifacial solar panels from certain safeguard measures under a Section 201 investigation.

1000

Related content

As explained in the notice [PDF 268 KB]:

  • The U.S. president on January 23, 2018, imposed a safeguard measure on imports of certain solar products pursuant to a Section 201 investigation (that is, Section 201 of the Trade Act of 1974).
  • On February 14, 2018, the USTR established procedures for interested persons to request product-specific exclusions from application of the safeguard measure.
  • On June 13, 2019, the USTR published a notice granting certain requests for exclusions and excluding the products at issue from the safeguard measure’s application. In particular, the USTR excluded bifacial solar panels consisting only of bifacial solar cells.
  • Since publication of the June 2019 notice, the USTR has evaluated this exclusion further and, after consultation with the Commerce and Energy departments, has determined that the exclusion will undermine the objectives of the safeguard measure.

Today’s notice reports that the USTR has modified the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS) to withdraw the exclusion of bifacial solar panels from application of the safeguard measure and has modified the HTSUS to make certain technical changes in connection with the safeguard measure.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal