close
Share with your friends

China imposes 5% tariff on U.S. crude oil imports

China imposes 5% tariff on U.S. crude oil imports

The first tranche of Chinese tariffs on U.S. goods of a value equal to U.S. $75 billion and including a 5% tariff on U.S. crude oil was effective beginning September 2019.

1000

Related content

Crude oil is an important commodity to the Chinese economy, and it is reported that Chinese demand for U.S. crude oil reached historic highs in 2018—with imports increased by 113%. However, U.S. crude accounts for only 2.8% of China’s total market.

China will, for the short term, likely continue purchases of U.S. crude oil, but in the longer term, China may turn to other countries (such as Russia, Saudi Arabia, Angola, Iraq, and Oman—countries that collectively account for 55% of Chinese oil imports so far this year).

The Chinese tariffs are in response to a 15% tariff placed on U.S. $150 billion of Chinese imports beginning 1 September 2019, and U.S. $300 billion beginning 15 December 2019.

 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organization. KPMG International Limited is a private English company limited by guarantee and does not provide services to clients. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal