close
Share with your friends

USTR adds 5% to tariffs on imports from China (Federal Register notice)

USTR adds 5% to tariffs on imports from China

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) on August 23, 2019, issued a release announcing that the president had directed the USTR to increase tariffs by 5% on approximately $550 billion worth of Chinese imports.

1000

Related content

The USTR release (August 23) stated that additional details would be provided in a notice to be published in the Federal Register. Read TradeNewsFlash

Today, the USTR issued for publication in the Federal Register a notice of modification [PDF 367 KB] of the Section 301 action concerning China. Today’s notice reflects that the USTR has determined to modify the action being taken in the Section 301 investigation by increasing the rate of additional duty from 10% to 15% on goods from China as specified in Annex A and Annex C of an August 20 notice. Read TradeNewsFlash

An annex to today’s USTR notice amends the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS) to provide that the rate of additional duties for the products covered in Annex A and Annex C of the August 20 notice will be 15%. This increase in the rate of duty does not change the effective date of Annex A (September 1, 2019) or of Annex C (December 15, 2019).

 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal