close
Share with your friends

U.S. notice, more products from China excluded from additional 25% customs duty

U.S. notice, more products from China excluded

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today released for publication in the Federal Register a notice of product exclusions reflecting the USTR’s determination to grant exclusion requests from the additional 25% customs duty on goods imported into the United States from China (pursuant to the investigation and action under Section 301 of the Trade Act of 1974).

1000

Related content

The USTR notice of product exclusion [PDF 299 KB] sets out a determination by the USTR to grant exclusion requests (the excluded products are listed in an annex to this USTR notice) from imposition of the additional 25% customs duty. The USTR notice states that the exclusions are reflected in 10 specially prepared product descriptions that cover 15 separate exclusion requests.

The product exclusions announced in today’s notice will apply with a September 23, 2018 effective date, and will extend for one year after the publication of this notice (scheduled for August 7, 2019).

U.S. Customs and Border Protection will issue instructions on entry guidance and implementation.


For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal