close
Share with your friends

U.S. adds 10% tariff on $300 billion of Chinese imports (effective September 1, 2019)

U.S. adds 10% tariff on $300 billion of Chinese imports

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today announced the next steps in the process of imposing an additional tariff of 10% on approximately $300 billion of Chinese imports.

1000

Related content

The USTR in May 2019 announced imports from China that would be potentially subject to an additional 10% tariff.  Today’s USTR release states that this new 10% tariff will go into effect on September 1, 2019.

There are exceptions for certain products that are being removed from the additional 10% tariff based on health, safety, national security, and other factors (in other words, these products will not face additional tariffs of 10%). Imposition of the additional 10% tariff is being delayed for other imports, until December 15, 2019.

Accordingly, the USTR release includes two lists of products:

  • A list of products [PDF 486 KB] for which the 10% tariff will be imposed as of September 1, 2019.
  • A list of certain products [PDF 165 KB] for which the additional 10% tariff is being delayed to December 15, 2019 (for example, cell phones, laptop computers, video game consoles, certain toys, computer monitors, and certain items of footwear and clothing)

Today’s USTR release indicates that there will be an exclusion process for products subject to the additional tariff, and that the USTR will publish in the Federal Register additional details and lists of the tariff lines affected by this announcement.

 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Steve Brotherton
Principal and Global Export and Sanctions Leader
T: 415-963-7861
E: sbrotherton@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

 

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal