close
Share with your friends

USTR hearings, additional 25% tariffs on $300 billion imports from China

USTR hearings, additional 25% tariffs

The Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR) today issued a notice about the public hearings scheduled from June 17 to June 21, 2019, and the following week, from June 24 to June 25, 2019, regarding proposed tariffs on approximately $300 billion worth of Chinese products.

1000

Related content

Read the USTR notice on the public hearings.

Previously, the United States imposed an additional 25% of customs duty on products of China with an annual trade value of approximately $250 billion, imposed in three tranches: (1) tranche 1 covered 818 tariff subheadings, with an approximate annual trade value of $34 billion; (2) tranche 2 covered 279 tariff subheadings, with an approximate annual trade value of $16 billion; and (3) tranche 3 covered 5733 tariff subheadings, with an approximate annual trade value of $200 billion.

In a USTR notice (May 2019), the USTR reported the United States would impose an additional 25% of customs duty on 3,805 full and partial tariff subheadings for items on a product list that:

  • Has an approximate annual trade value of $300 billion
  • Covers essentially all products not currently covered by prior customs action in the three tranches
  • Excludes pharmaceuticals, certain pharmaceutical inputs, select medical goods, rare earth materials, and “critical minerals”


Read TradeNewsFlash

 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal