close
Share with your friends

Australia: Origin waivers for importers under trust trader program

Australia: Origin waivers for importers

The Australian trusted trader accreditation is administered by Australian Border Force to assist traders and “streamline legitimate trade”, by offering priority visa processing, and other trade facilitation benefits.

1000

Related content

Effective 28 June 2019, Australian trusted traders using six specific trade agreements for duty minimisation will not be required to present the usual certificate or declaration of origin at the Australian border in order to claim preferential duty rates. While the origin waiver benefit removes this administrative burden, it does not remove the requirement for the trusted trader to hold evidence at the time of importation that the goods meet the relevant rules of origin, which will be required to be presented upon request by Australian Border Force.

The origin waiver benefit also does not apply to goods imported prior to 28 June 2019, refund applications, or Australian exports to parties to the relevant trade agreements.

Department of Home Affairs Notice 2019/23 identifies the agreements that will benefit from the origin waiver as:

  • Australia-Chile free trade agreement
  • Japan-Australia economic partnership agreement
  • Korea-Australia free trade agreement
  • Malaysia-Australia free trade agreement
  • Singapore-Australia free trade agreement
  • Thailand-Australia free trade agreement

Australian Border Force has advised that evidence that goods that meet the rules of origin under these agreements can now take many forms including contracts and statements relevant to manufacturing processes, materials, and cost compliance requirements.


Read a June 2019 report prepared by the KPMG member firm in Australia

 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Leonie Ferretter
Partner
T: +61 2 9455 9330
E: lferretter@kpmg.com.au
John L. McLoughlin
Principal and East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com
Doug Zuvich
Partner and Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com
Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, Washington National Tax
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com
Andy Siciliano
Partner and National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com
Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com
Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com
Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com
Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com
Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com
Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com
Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com
George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com
 

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal