close
Share with your friends

United States: AED required for postal shipments from China

United States: AED required for shipments from China

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) issued a release notifying that Advance Electronic Data (AED) will be required for postal shipments originating in China. This release affects ocean and air carriers.

1000

Related content

The CBP release—CSMS# 18-000758—states that AED will be required beginning 1 January 2019 for international postal shipments of goods originating from China and destined for delivery in the United States. This AED standard also applies to postal shipments of goods that originate in Hong Kong and Macau. 

The release states that CBP would like the carriers to communicate with postal officials in China, Hong Kong, and Macau to confirm that all (100%) of the containers with postal shipments contain AED before loading the shipments onto their conveyance. If the postal operator identifies to the carrier that a container does not have 100% AED, then the carrier is directed not to accept that container. 

CBP stated that enforcement action on shipments (including those that may include return of shipments without 100% AED) “…could begin at any time beginning January 1, 2019.”

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner, Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner, National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117 
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal, East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, WNT
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal