close
Share with your friends

U.S. guidance, “absolute quota” steel and aluminum product relief

U.S. guidance, steel and aluminum product relief

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) today issued a release concerning guidance for the entry filing of imports of steel mill articles and aluminum products that have been granted relief, under section 232 of the Trade Expansion ACT of 1962, from absolute quota by the Secretary of Commerce.

1000

Related content

According to the CBP release—CSMS# 18-000671:

  • The automated commercial environment (ACE) system has been programmed to process imports granted relief from quantitative limits. 
  • Importers or filers must submit a copy of the approved Commerce Department quota product exclusion with the approved importer of record number as well as providing a copy to the quota and agriculture branch. 
  • Only products from importer(s) designated in the product exclusion approved by Commerce are eligible for the exclusion from the section 232 measures. 
  • CBP must receive and activate the product exclusion number before any quota exemption can be processed, and before goods subject to the quota exemption can be released.

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner, Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner, National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117 
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal, East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, WNT
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal