close
Share with your friends

U.S. bank settles sanctions violations for $5.2 million

U.S. bank settles sanctions violations for $5.2 million

The U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) today announced a $5.2 million settlement by a U.S. bank for 87 apparent violations of U.S. sanctions related to Cuba, Iran, and proliferators of weapons of mass destruction.

1000

Related content

According to the OFAC release, the identified transactions were net settlement payments, of which a very small portion appeared to have been attributable to interests of airlines that were at various times on OFAC’s list of specially designated nationals and blocked persons (SDN list). The apparent violations included transactions such as airline freight charges.

The bank voluntarily self-disclosed these apparent violations, and it was determined that the violations constituted a “non-egregious case.” 

Separately, OFAC issued a finding that the same bank had violated the Syrian sanction regulations. OFAC found that from 2007 to October 2013, the bank processed 85 transactions (in an amount totaling about $46,000) and maintained eight accounts on behalf of six customers who were contemporaneously identified on the SDN list.  OFAC determined that the bank also voluntarily disclosed the violations, and that these violations constituted a non-egregious case.

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner, Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner, National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117 
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal, East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, WNT
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Want to do business with KPMG?

 

loading image Request for proposal