North Carolina counties, hurricane-related tax relief - KPMG United States
Share with your friends

IRS adds more North Carolina counties, Hurricane Florence-related tax relief

North Carolina counties, hurricane-related tax relief

The IRS has added nine more counties in North Carolina to an existing list of counties for purposes of tax relief being made available for certain taxpayers affected by Hurricane Florence. The tax relief includes more time to file individual and business tax returns and to make certain tax payments.


Related content

The tax relief is available with respect to affected taxpayers in any area designated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as qualifying for individual assistance. As of September 17, 2018, the list of North Carolina counties identified as a FEMA-designated area was: Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Harnett, Lenoir, Jones, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Robeson, Sampson, and Wayne. Read TaxNewsFlash

The IRS updated a release (NC-2018-03) on September 24, 2018, to add nine more counties—Hoke, Hyde, Johnson, Lee, Moore, Pitt, Richmond, Scotland, and Wilson—to the list of areas where taxpayers may be eligible for the tax relief measures.

The IRS thus has allowed more time for filing returns, paying taxes, and performing certain other time-sensitive acts for certain taxpayers affected by Hurricane Florence in the North Carolina counties of Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnson, Lee, Lenoir, Jones, Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Wayne, and Wilson. The additional time applies to deadlines—either an original or extended due date—that occur on or after September 7, 2018, and before January 31, 2019.

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us


Want to do business with KPMG?


Request for proposal