Share with your friends

Legislative update: Senator Whitehouse (D-RI) named to Finance Committee

U.S. Senator Whitehouse named to Finance Committee

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) is being named to the Senate Finance Committee.


Related content

The addition of Senator Whitehouse changes the party make-up to the committee, reflecting the change in the Senate with the election of Senator Jones in the Alabama special election last month. As a result, there will be 14 Republican members and 13 Democrat members of the Finance Committee.  Previously, there were only 12 Democrat members. The members are as follows:


Republicans on Finance Committee
  • Orrin G. Hatch, Chairman
  • Senator Chuck Grassley
  • Senator Mike Crapo
  • Senator Pat Roberts
  • Senator Michael B. Enzi
  • Senator John Cornyn
  • Senator John Thune
  • Senator Richard Burr
  • Senator Johnny Isakson
  • Senator Rob Portman
  • Senator Patrick J. Toomey
  • Senator Dean Heller
  • Senator Tim Scott
  • Senator Bill Cassidy



Democrats on Finance Committee
  • Senator Ron Wyden, ranking member
  • Senator Debbie Stabenow
  • Senator Maria Cantwell
  • Senator Bill Nelson
  • Senator Robert Menendez
  • Senator Tom Carper
  • Senator Ben Cardin
  • Senator Sherrod Brown
  • Senator Michael Bennet
  • Senator Bob Casey
  • Senator Mark Warner
  • Senator Claire McCaskill
  • Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

KPMG observation

The ratio of membership of the various Senate committees between Democrat and Republican senators is negotiated between the Senate leadership of the two parties. Generally, this ratio is reflective of the overall ratio of Democrat and Republican Senators.  The January 3rd swearing in of Senator Doug Jones (D-AL) to replace Republican Senator Luther Strange (R-AL) resulted from the December 12, 2017 special election to fill the seat vacated by Jeff Sessions when he left the Senate to become the U.S. Attorney General.

The resulting change in the ratio in the Senate from 52 Republicans and 48 Democrats to 51 Republicans and 49 Democrats prompted a change in the ratio of the membership of the various Senate committees.  As a result an additional Democrat seat was added to the Senate Finance Committee that is being filled by Senator Whitehouse.

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us


Want to do business with KPMG?


loading image Request for proposal