Updated list of “approved certificate authorities” - KPMG United States
Share with your friends

Updated list of “approved certificate authorities” affecting IDES enrollment

Updated list of “approved certificate authorities”

The IRS today issued a release reporting that the list of “approved certificate authorities” has been updated, with an effective date of July 31, 2017.


Related content

The IRS transmittal message states that entities with a valid certificate from an approved certificate authority, based on the prior version of the certificate authority list, may continue to use it until that certificate expires.


Digital certificates link and bind digital information to physical identities and provide non-repudiation and data integrity. Before beginning the IDES enrollment process, each entity must obtain one valid digital certificate issued by an “approved certificate authority.” IDES then stores the entity’s public key and related digital certificate.  IDES only recognizes and accepts digital certificates issued by IRS approved certificate authorities.

The IRS public key is a certificate that can be downloaded from the IDES enrollment site. The public certificate is to be included in the FATCA data packet (transmission archive) to the IRS.

© 2019 KPMG LLP, a Delaware limited liability partnership and the U.S. member firm of the KPMG network of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Cooperative (“KPMG International”), a Swiss entity. All rights reserved.

KPMG International Cooperative (“KPMG International”) is a Swiss entity. Member firms of the KPMG network of independent firms are affiliated with KPMG International. KPMG International provides no client services. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm.

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us


Want to do business with KPMG?


Request for proposal