Unified e-visa to visit Russia

The Russian Government has released a list of the foreign countries whose citizens will be eligible to visit Russia using the unified e-visa

From 1.01.2021 citizens of 52 states will be able to visit Russia using the unified e-visa

The Russian Government has released1 a list of the foreign countries whose citizens will be eligible to visit Russia using the unified  e-visa from 1 January 2021. The list includes the 52 states whose citizens have had the right to apply for the e-visa to visit certain regions of Russia since the pilot project began in 2017.

Under the legislative amendments of July 20202, the unified  e-visa provides the right to conduct one visit to Russia for up to 16 days within 60 days from the date of issuance for private, business, tourism or humanitarian purposes, including for participation in scientific, cultural, socio-political, economic, or sports events, or in connection with building contacts and forming related networks for the aforementioned purposes. There are no restrictions on unified  e-visa holders preventing them from moving between Russia’s regions.

Applications for the unified e-visa should be submitted via the website of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The visa should then be issued within four days from the date of submission of the electronic application.

The procedure for issuing the unified e-visa is currently subject to being approved. According to the information published on the official website of the Russian Government, invitations from the host party, documents confirming the purpose of the trip, as well as confirmation of hotel reservation will not be required to obtain this type of visa. The consular fee will be US$40 per application for obtaining the unified  e-visa (children under 6 years of age will be eligible for free admission).3

1 Order of Russian Government № 2571-r as of 6 October 2020

2 Federal Law № 305-FZ as of 31 July 2020

3 http://government.ru/news/40554/