Week in Review

[14 October 2021]

This week New Zealand dairy prices increase again across several bank forecasts, while we also see strong growth numbers and prices in the sheep dairy industry.  

Logistic challenges remain in domestic and international headlines, with congestion at Auckland’s port and a strike in Australia causing further challenges, while large multinationals begin securing their own vessels for the upcoming Christmas peak.

Internationally we see many animal welfare stories this week, with 150,000 healthy pigs expected to be disposed in the UK due to worker and transport shortages, debates on the ethics of octopus farming, and a class-action against Allbirds including claims of animal suffering. 

Read the latest Field Note: Issue 579

Finishing off our Agribusiness Agenda 2021 series with the last vodcast of 2021, Ian Proudfoot shares a conversation with Jack Keeys on the world’s dramatic fusion of 17 megatrends, into six global megathemes in addition to a New Zealand specific megatheme, all of which are expected to be driving forces in the future of food. 

Spotlight Stories

Headline Stories

Get in touch

 
Audit – Auckland
Ian Proudfoot
09 367 5882
iproudfoot@kpmg.co.nz
Management Consulting – Wellington
Justine Fitzmaurice
04 816 4845
jfitzmaurice@kpmg.co.nz
Agri-Food – Auckland
Jack Keeys

09 363 3502
jkeeys@kpmg.co.nz
Private Enterprise – Hamilton
Hamish McDonald 

07 858 6519
hamishmcdonald@kpmg.co.nz
Agri-Food – Auckland
Andrew Watene

09 367 5969
awatene@kpmg.co.nz
Consultant – South Island
Genevieve Steven

03 307 0761
gsteven@kpmg.co.nz

Farm Enterprise – South Island
Brent Love

03 683 1871
blove@kpmg.co.nz

Field Notes Administrator
Angelo Marundan
+64 9363 3624
amarundan@kpmg.co.nz