close
Share with your friends

Beyond the tipping point: A primer on online casual gaming in India

Beyond the tipping point: A primer on online casual gaming in India

22 June 2021 | 5.00 p.m. - 6.00 p.m. IST | 7.30 p.m. - 8.30 p.m. SGT | 4.30 a.m.- 5.30 a.m. PDT | 12.30 p.m. - 1.30 p.m. WET

  

23 June 2021 | 9.00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. IST | 11:30 p.m. – 12:30 a.m. SGT | 8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. PDT | 4.30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. WET

Owing to the pandemic, our homes have turned into hybrid and fully functional offices. Just as our working patterns have witnessed a shift, the new normal has also seen a positive spike in media consumption habits as well. Picture this – you are working from home and need to take a break and reboot – this is where casual gaming apps and platforms have kept people company and engaged them. They also provide a way to interact with friends and family, while being confined indoors.

Gamechilling as a trend has seen a marked rise in India and is directly linked to how Gaming is a serious business. Within gaming, online casual gaming has the largest user base and KPMG in India is launching a report on 17 June 2021, exploring the various facets of online casual gaming in India, titled ‘Beyond the tipping point – A primer on online casual gaming in India’. We are organising two webinars to take you through the key highlights of the report, at the following time slots.

The Indian online gaming market was on a strong growth trajectory even before the pandemic. However, COVID-19, and the ensuing lockdowns and WFH models, provided a tipping point in terms of how Online casual gaming has emerged as a major channel both in terms of the game base at 420 Mn in FY21, and the revenue contribution to the gaming industry at INR 60 bn (of the total gaming industry size of INR 136 bn in FY21).

Through this report, we deep dive into the online casual gaming ecosystem in India, understand the landscape of this sub-segment and the players who have helped in amassing scale. Delving further, we will also explore the potential of monetisation both through In-app purchases and incentivised advertising. We are also highlighting some of the near to medium-term trend-markers that are emerging, which have the potential to dramatically change demand drivers and operating models.

Satya Easwaran

Satya Easwaran

Partner and Head,
Technology, Media and Telecom,
KPMG in India

Girish Menon

Girish Menon

Partner and Head,
Media and Entertainment,
KPMG in India
 

informative image