• 1000

Celebrating the best in children's literature

The KPMG Children’s Books Ireland Awards recognise excellence in writing and illustration, in Irish or English, and are open to authors and illustrators who are born in Ireland, are permanently resident here, or are citizens of Ireland.

About the awards

Founded in 1990, the KPMG Children's Books Ireland Awards are the most prestigious awards for children's books in Ireland and celebrate Irish writing and illustration for young people. 

The 2022 KPMG Children’s Books Ireland Awards winners have been announced - giving an impressive and powerful picture of the status of contemporary Irish children’s literature.


Winners of the KPMG Children's Books Ireland Awards 2022

The winners in each category are as follows: 

  • KPMG Children’s Book of the Year 2022: 
    C.G. Moore for Gut Feelings
  • KPMG Reading Hero Award: Daisy Magill
  • Junior Juries Award: Adiba Jaigirdar for The Henna Wars
  • Honour Award: Pádraig Kenny for The Shadows of Rookhaven
  • Eilis Dillion Award:  Flora Delargy for Rescuing the Titanic
  • Honour Award for Illustration: Frindleswylde
  • Judges Special: Henna Wars

Congratulations to all of the 2022 award winners!

Read more about the winning titles at Children's Books Ireland

KPMG Children's Book Awards 2022 winners announced

Some of the 2022 award-winning titles

Reading Hero Award winner - Daisy Magill

Congratulations to this year’s Reading Hero - Daisy Magill (8) from Seaview Integrated Primary School, Glenarm Co. Antrim!

Daisy was nominated by her teacher, Ashleigh Moran, for the countless hours she dedicates to becoming a better reader:

‘Daisy comes to the class teacher (myself) every morning for extra support to improve her literacy skills and can be seen reading all the time. Daisy is my reading hero because she puts so much effort, time, sweat and tears into becoming a better reader and never resents the stories on a page but cherishes them.’

The KPMG Reading Hero Award is awarded annually to a young person in Ireland or Northern Ireland who deserves special recognition for their reading efforts.

Well done Daisy!

Reading Hero Award winner

Daisy Magill, 2022 Reading Hero, with Seamus Hand, Managing Partner, KPMG in Ireland