close
Share with your friends

Post COVID-19: transition and recovery webinar series

KPMG will lead a series of webinars for island governments which focuses on transitioning to the post COVID-19 new normal.

KPMG will lead a series of webinars which focuses on transitioning post COVID-19.

The featured topics will include discussions on economic recovery, industry dynamics and maintaining robust governance amongst other challenges facing infrastructure, government and healthcare entities across the region.

There are five informative panel sessions featuring Subject Matter Professionals across KPMG’s global and islands network. Case studies are based on recent works with governments, the World Bank, and non-governmental organisation will be shared to illustrate approaches to transition and economic recovery.

These complimentary webinars will commence on Wednesday, June 17, through to Wednesday, July 15, 2020.

The webinars will commence with a 30-45 minute presentation and will include a 15-minute Q&A session to allow attendees to submit their questions to our speakers.

Slides and supporting information will only be made available to attendees.  

Economic recovery: streamlining “shovel ready” projects and securing financing

Date: Wednesday, June 17, 2020

Time: 10:30am EST |  11:30am EDT/AST | 12:30pm ADT | 4:30pm  BST | 5:30pm CEST 

Speaker: Stephen Beatty and Fernando Faria

Moderator: Simon Townend

Webcast replay: Playback recording or Download recording

Webinar summary

While island governments are focused on the health and wellbeing of their citizens, there is mounting pressure for the public sector to create a glidepath to economic recovery. There is a shift in focus to develop a pipeline of infrastructure projects to launch as people return to work. This session will cover how governments are identifying 'shovel ready' infrastructure projects to quickly generate economic stimulus and employment.

For many island governments the fiscal space for financing capital projects is constrained by having borrowed or delayed current expenditures to cover public health and unemployment costs related to COVID-19. This webinar panel will provide a financing overview on possible resources available from the World Bank, including other sources (e.g. Foreign Commonwealth Office).

Transitioning to the post pandemic world: a review of Special Purpose Organisations (SPO)

Date: Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Time: 10:30am EST |  11:30am EDT/AST | 12:30pm ADT | 4:30pm  BST | 5:30pm CEST

Subject matter professional: Martin Joyce

Moderator: Niko Whittaker

Several governments are establishing SPOs to plan and execute the transition from public health crisis to the new normal. SPOs are charged with a spectrum of responsibilities, from cash flow management, streamlining economic recovery activities, opening borders, to undertaking the analysis and planning related to rebuilding their respective economies. The webinar will cover several case studies from recently established SPOs, their objectives, organisational structures, empowerment, and how to maximise their effectiveness.

Creating a glidepath to economic recovery: attracting foreign direct investment (FDI) and mitigating supply chain dynamics

Date: Wednesday, July 8, 2020

Time: 10:30am EST |  11:30am EDT/AST | 12:30pm ADT | 4:30pm  BST | 5:30pm CEST

Speaker Jerome Thirion and Omar Raza   

Moderator: Lori Rockhead

Register        

The pandemic has created a new global landscape, with global FDI forecast to decrease by 30% to 40%. This webinar session will be assessing the impact on national in/outward direct investment and seizing opportunities to minimise outward flows.

The webinar will cover:

  • Understanding the knock-on effects on industry is essential to governments planning on how to support and stimulate businesses; 
  • New supply chain dynamics including the emergence of micro supply chains, and domestic rejuvenation/repatriation of supply chains which are critical to national interests (e.g., food, healthcare, and energy);
  • Mitigating the risks of the domino effect and interconnectedness of industry clusters; and
  • Attracting inward FDI.

COVID-19: recovery, relapse and resilience

How healthcare leaders can build and sustain a resilient new reality.

Date: Thursday, July 9, 2020

Time: 9:00am EST |  10:00am EDT/AST | 11:00am ADT | 3:00pm  BST | 4:00pm CEST

Subject matter professional: Dr. Edward FitzgeraldBeccy Fenton, and Shripal Doshi

Moderator: Simon Townend

Register

Healthcare systems around the world have borne the full brunt of COVID-19. The pandemic has upended normal operations, exposed system and supply chain limitations, tested the physical and mental limits of health workers and caused rapid adoption of digital solutions. Despite these extraordinary challenges, there are also opportunities to drive positive change through these difficult times. This session will draw on KPMG’s experience in supporting healthcare providers and systems across the world. 

P3 contract reconfiguration

Date: Wednesday, July 15, 2020

Time: 10:30am EST |  11:30am EDT/AST | 12:30pm ADT | 4:30pm  BST | 5:30pm CEST

Subject matter professional: Cesar Barrero

Moderator: Chris Brome

Register

The panel discussion will discuss COVID-19’s impact on new and existing P3s across various regions.

A global overview, and select case studies from island jurisdictions, will highlight how government sponsors are handling contract reconfigurations; including:

  • Force majeure clauses and materials changes;
  • Mitigating the impact on new and existing transactions; and
  • The options available to governments. 
informative image